Optionally Maintain Software Update Client Config When Removing Last Software Update Point
When you remove the last Software Update Point in an environment, clients will lose their Software Update client configurations. While it’s hard to argue with that logic it does create a catch-22.
SUPs are based on WSUS and WSUS is terrible. Which means you will probably need to rebuild it someday. If you only have one SUP and you uninstall it now your clients suddenly lose their Software Update client configuration. Since configuring Windows Update with GPO is discouraged because it conflicts with ConfigMgr’s local policy config most organizations leave this not configured. When clients revert to the GPO controlled behavior now all your clients are pointing right at Windows Update. Total and utter bedlam ensues while every client in your org start downloading and installing everything.
I’m not entirely clear what the solution is but when the last SUP is removed there should be some option to handle this use case. If the user plans to rebuild we should temporarily maintain the client settings to avoid the issue described above.