Microsoft

System Center Configuration Manager Feedback

Suggestion box powered by UserVoice

How can we improve Configuration Manager?

Completely overhaul the application model to be a sequence of actions set within system or user context, rather than a single command.

I'll be upfront: being completely new to SCCM, the reason I propose this is I've been using Zenworks Configuration Management for the last 10 years. I'm not here to complain but rather to propose ideas that would improve the SCCM experience for system administrators and end-users alike.

For starters, right now what I am discovering is that Applications in SCCM only support one command for installation, and one for uninstallation. I suppose that if you are deploying a MSI and you can easily implement any customisation and user settings in the form of a MST file you are good to go. However, simple things such as adding a MSP file to your sequence is not allowed within this model. Furthermore, the truth is that not all products are MSI based and are that easy to configure, especially Setup.exe that you cannot edit.

What I am discovering is that most SCCM packagers will create a custom script that is either VBS, powershell or Auto-IT based and this is what is called within the "Installation" line in the Application. Then either a different script is called to unstall, or a parameter is handled to the same script to perform a different action.

What's worse is that since this script is usually run under the System context (lockdown users), you have to either implement Active Setup or have a special section in your script to find the user registry hive, load it, apply changes, then save and unload.

In order to simplify packaging and add more flexibility, I believe the application model should be split into different tabs (sections) as follow:

- Install
- Launch
- Repair/Verify
- Uninstall