Microsoft

System Center Configuration Manager Feedback

Suggestion box powered by UserVoice

How can we improve Configuration Manager?

Allow us to configure Proxy server settings for the console that is downloading Software Updates

On our Primary site server, under Admin > Site System properties, we have set the proxy settings with username and password.

In our company, Domain Admins are blocked at the proxy server from accessing the internet. My colleague, who is an SCCM admin, but not a Domain Admin, can download Software Updates and add them to a Deployment Package. I am a Domain Admin, and when I try this, it fails with: "Error: Failed to download content ID 16902216. Error %1 is not a valid Win32 application."

So, that proxy setting is used by some functions of ConfigMgr, but not all.

According to Scott Breen [MSFT]:

Configuration Manager needs to connect to the Internet to download the source files for Software Updates. This process is initiated via:
- The Configuration Manager server during the execution of an Automated Deployment Rules (ADR);
- The Configuration Manager console (in the user context on the computer where the console is running) during creation of a Software Update package.

The download process requires the computer or user account where the download originates to have access direct to the internet or through a proxy server.

The proxy server configured within Configuration Manager settings is for the server initiated downloads only - NOT the console initiated downloads.

What I would like is for the admin console to have a proxy settings section, so that for software downloads, it can used a specific user account to do the downloads. In my case, using Internet Options proxy settings is not feasible, as that account doesn't have rights to logon to the server.