Stop unnecessary "New software is available" pop-up on each logon after a user has uninstalled an available application.
After a user installs an application that was deployed as "Available", but later uninstalls the application, the user gets a balloon pop-up every time they logon saying "New software is available".
There is NO way to prevent this from happening apart from removing the user from the collection where the application was deployed, and adding them back. This has been the case since CM12 was released but this is not a desirable behavior especially when there's no "valid" way of preventing this.
Buster Frith commented
This has been annoying some of my customers who don't install all available software. If Software Center apps have been viewed since the app was available it should retain that they have already seen it is available.
There should be a per-application or per-deployment option like there is with software update deployments.
Stefan Kubsch commented
Any news on this? It´s really annoying. Noted since March 2017...Time for a fix!
Currently, if any application is deployed as available the user will get a 'New Software is Available' notification every single time the client starts. Forever. In 1610 a 'new' banner was added to the icons which goes away after 7 days. That's great but then so should the notification. To not tie these together greatly reduces the value of both of them since user are now expecting to see 'new' icons in the Software Center when they get notified that new software is available. After a few weeks of that they just stop paying attention to the notification.
Can’t believe Microsoft even programmed this stupid message to keep coming up anyway ….. why ? … it’s pointless.
Yip that will be great to have a fix for, cheers
Manuel Müller commented
I dont get the Problem, simply change the notifications to "only Computer restarts"
I second this motion!! It is available from app cat and once removed from the client it should no longer be in software center. Get calls all the time on this one.
Andy D'Hollander commented
We're having the same issue. If this behavior can't be fixed it would be nice to have at least an option in your Software Center to "reset" it, making it forget about anything you ever installed through the Application Catalog.